Pig lame/spinal/leg issues?

General discussions on health, disease, conditions etc
Paisley

Pig lame/spinal/leg issues?

Post by Paisley » Sun Oct 13, 2013 8:05 pm

Hello
Extremely worried about my pig peanut, he's roughly 2 years old lives with his brother of the same age. On Thursday I noticed a slight limp but thought he just laid funny. Last time he actually stood was Friday morning it's now sunday. He seemed wobbly and hesitant to put weight on one hind leg. Weather been cold wet and down right rubbish.
He's eating fine, drinking fine as just taking it to him as he just won't get up he tries but can't. Checked his hoofs nothing hot or stuck, touched all his legs spine etc he's not crying out.
Me and mum tried to stand him today and he just squealed and grunted not sure if from pain or annoyance. I'm new to pigs had them 6 months but I'd be devestated to lose him. Any guidance or comments would be much appreciated

The Rushbury Pig

Re: Pig lame/spinal/leg issues?

Post by The Rushbury Pig » Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:15 pm

You will need to get a vet to check this. It could be a lot of things ranging from ear infections (Wendy will, I am sure, advise on that one) to a spinal problem which I have experience of. It sounds less like a leg issue from what you say but that cannot be ruled out either.

Has he been walking around in a lot of mud after all this rain, this is a typical reason for such symptons?

Is he tending to sit?

What exactly was he like when he was up and about, a distinct limp or just staggering about unable to stand?

Either way your piggy needs some anti inflammatory/pain relief and a more thorough checking out.
Cheerio for now, Sam Jones :-)

BKKPS Chairperson
Email : samjonesbkkps@aol.com
Tel: 0845 489 5863, leaving a message for the secretary who will forward to me.

Paisley

Post by Paisley » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:34 pm

Hello
Had the vet out today have him high dose of anti biotics, as well as pain killers and anti immflamatories.