info for beginners

General chat about kunekune pigs
gavinio25

info for beginners

Post by gavinio25 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 7:53 pm

Hi there folks.
Just after some initial advice regarding kunekune keeping.
I am a teacher at a primary school on the Staffordshire/Shropshire border and our school is looking to rehome a number of animals as part of a small holding. We have a large area of land including woodland which I suppose would be good for the pigs to be reared in. We have raised funds to buy shelters, erect fences and purchase any other paraphernalia needed. If you could have a look at the following questions I would appreciate any help.
Is it better to rear from a piglet, or have a mature animal who's character is settled and can be trusted?
Are there any specific dietary requirements or plants that we would need to get rid of?
What would be a suitable area for the animals to be kept in? (obviously we would have a pair or more)
Is there a certain type of fencing needed to house them?
Can Kunes be kept with other animals such as goats?
Would they need regular veterinary checks?
These are obviously initial inquiries and we would not endeavour to rehome without having the best possible facilities and knowledge to hand.
Kind Regards, Mr G Bartels

biddydog

Re: info for beginners

Post by biddydog » Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:06 am

There are far more expert contributors than I but here's my two penny worth. We have had two glorious KKs for 18m and my responses are based on that