Intact female with 2 castrated males

General chat about kunekune pigs
Tess21

Intact female with 2 castrated males

Post by Tess21 » Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:45 pm

Hi everyone

I have 2 pet Kunes' castrated males a year and a half old, would it be possible to have an intact female Kune with them (she is about 4 years old and has had a litter in the past), we would have her just as a pet. My boys are both great lads and this little female is gorgeous too and is on her own. We had thought of putting her into the adjacent part of the field so she could see the boys if it wasn't feasible to have her in their area. I'd be grateful of any advice as I am fairly new to keeping Kunes'.

The Rushbury Pig

Re: Intact female with 2 castrated males

Post by The Rushbury Pig » Thu Jul 04, 2013 8:55 pm

It is perfectly possible to integrate them and the sow will enjoy the company. However, to get to the point where they will happily snuggle up together in an ark will mean some fighting whilst they sort out the pecking order.

If it is possible to put them next to each other where they can talk through the fence for a while and then, ideally, have an area where they can first meet and mix with each other that is not the area where each has been living and sleeping. Ideally it will have access for both to where they normally live and sleep. Three distinct areas but all joined if that makes sense?!

I now have my paddocks set up so that I can do this with my sows who have been weaned and need introducing back into the group and it works well. There is still some squabbling but because they can get out of each other's way the general settle in a day or two.
Cheerio for now, Sam Jones :-)

BKKPS Chairperson
Email : samjonesbkkps@aol.com
Tel: 0845 489 5863, leaving a message for the secretary who will forward to me.

Tess21

Post by Tess21 » Fri Jul 05, 2013 12:42 pm